Skip to main content

Basak Kalkanci Named 2019 ARCS Emerging Sustainability Scholar

Basak Kalkanci receives prestigious ARCS award.

Basak Kalkanci receives prestigious ARCS award.

The Alliance for Corporate Sustainability (ARCS), an organization advancing rigorous academic research on corporate sustainability issues, has selected Basak Kalkanci for its Emerging Sustainability Scholar Award. The award recognizes a scholar in the area of corporate sustainability who is likely to make significant contributions to the advancement of corporate sustainability scholarship. Given annually, the award is granted in recognition of a scholar’s existing body of research and in anticipation of future work. Recipients provide rigorous and salient contributions that cross disciplinary and national boundaries.

Kalkanci, associate professor of operations management at the Georgia Tech Scheller College of Business, joins professors from Harvard Business School, USC Marshall School of Business, Wharton Business School, and London Business School in being given this prestigious award. Kalkanci formally received the award during the 11th Annual ARCS Conference hosted by the Center for Sustainable Enterprise at the UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School and Kenan Institute of Private Enterprise.

In selecting Kalkanci, the ARCS Awards Committee judged that she has produced top-level research on sustainable operations with a focus on information and transparency. They also noted that she has used an impressively broad range of research methodologies, including game theory, field studies, behavioral experimentation, and empirical analysis, which has allowed her to make unique contributions to her field.

Kalkanci’s research has appeared in premier journals including Management Science, Manufacturing & Service Operations Management, and Operations Research. She has received several other awards for her contributions to the sustainable operations community and to Georgia Tech; these include three Management Science Meritorious Service Awards (2015, 2017, and 2019), an M&SOM Meritorious Service Award, and the Georgia Power Professor of Excellence Award (2015).

This website uses cookies. For more information review our Cookie Policy