Skip to main content

Master Modeler Competition by the Business Analytics Center 2017 - sponsored by Navicure

The Business Analytics Center recently held the Master Modeler Competition, open to all analytics-interested students across Georgia Tech. A great deal of support was provided for this competition by the business analytics community.
Team Na'vi - winners of the MMC 2017

Team Na'vi - winners of the MMC 2017

Business Analytics Center recently hosted Master Modeler Competition, an annual, campus wide, multi-week competition that culminated in a final judging on March 10, 2017. Master Modeler Competition is open to all analytics-interested students across Georgia Tech, and this year's event received generous sponsorship from Navicure, thanks to Jim Denny, Andrew Groover, and Keith Davenport.

Through our strong corporate partnerships, we were able to assemble a knowledgeable and diverse panel of judges, from Business Analytics Center Executive Council companies including Turner, Axis Group, AT&T, Southern Company, and McKesson, plus guests from Clorox, Crawford & Company, and The Home Depot, as well as internal groups including Pediatric Technology Center and Center for Health Analytics & Informatics.

We announced the competition to all Business Analytics Club members and other analytics-interested Georgia Tech students beginning in January. Almost one hundred students registered for the competition, which then formed around 15 teams to compete in the first round eliminations. The finalists included seven teams of mostly graduate students, from a broad mix of disciplines including Master of Science in Analytics, MBA w/analytics concentration, PhD in Computer Science, PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering, PhD and Master of Science in Industrial Engineering, PhD in Machine Learning, and other disciplines. Teams competed for prizes totaling $13,000 from Navicure, recognition on Georgia Tech’s website, and free passes to the Southern Data Science Conference where Dr. Beverly Wright is speaking.

Thanks to our teams for participating (listed below), and our winners in the competition: Team Na’vi won first place, and Brew Crew won second place! These teams developed solutions to help Navicure better understand the payments processing and business side of healthcare services. Their insights and models provide the head of data science and other executives at Navicure different perspectives on how to leverage their data to improve patient experience as well as physician office efficiency.

Thanks again to judges, student competitors, our generous sponsors, my colleagues at Georgia Tech, and others for making Master Modeler Competition possible.

Special thanks to Jim Denny, Andrew Groover, and Keith Davenport

  • J. Antonio Carbajal Turner
  • Amir Alavi winner of Master Modeler Competition 2016
  • Anu Addanki Cardlytics
  • Keith Davenport Navicure
  • Nathan Hombroek Axis Group
  • Christopher Hunter Business Analytics Club officer
  • Geoff Mueller Clorox
  • Chandler Packard Crawford & Company
  • Sherry Farrugia Pediatric Technology Center
  • Timothy Wright, PhD Axis Group
  • Conny Karnes AT&T
  • Ravi Paruchuri Southern
  • Rob Thomas The Home Depot
  • Joel Sokol Georgia Tech
  • Satish Padiyar McKesson
  • Jon Duke, MD, MS Center for Health Analytics & Informatics, Georgia Tech

The winning teams were as follows:

Team Members: Harshit Amya, Vyom Vats, Rishi Bhatia, Arjun Mishra

Members of the winning team received several prizes for their hard work including $8,000 and free tickets to the Southern Data Science Conference. Our runner up team: Brew Crew - Rashab ParasharParit Burintrathikul, Abhishek Khare, and Aaron DSouza, won $5,000 for their hard work. We are very proud of our winning teams, and all the competitors from our inaugural Master Modeler Competition.

Analytics Falcons: Andrea McCarter and Wayne Liu

Cognosco: Aneeq Zia, Ali Benlalah, and Cooper Pellaton

Team 73: Peter Mocker, Michael Pearlman, Hari Ramachandran, and Paul Skelton

Brew Crew: (RUNNER UP) Rishab ParasharParit Burintrathiku, l Abhishek Khare, and Aaron DSouza

Captain Crunchers: Carolanne Lott, Deniz Gorgun, Robert Chen, and Lori Fung

Team Na'vi (WINNERS 2017): Harshit Amya, Vyom Vats, Rishi Bhatia, and Arjun Mishra

BuzzCure: Yuanshuo (David) Zhao, Huihan Li, Yinyin Lu, and Yi Hu

Thanks to our sponsor Navicure, our judges, and the students who participated! 

This website uses cookies. For more information review our Cookie Policy