Skip to main content

Dean Alavi Presented with Award at 11th Annual Diversity Symposium

Dean Maryam Alavi

Dean Maryam Alavi

At the 11th Annual Diversity Symposium, held Wednesday, September 4, 2019, Maryam Alavi, Dean, Scheller College of Business and Stephen P. Zelnak Jr. Chair, was the recipient of the prestigious 2019 Diversity Champion Faculty Award. Dean Alavi was recognized for her many contributions toward creating a diverse and inclusive community at Scheller College and Georgia Tech.

“Getting this award has truly energized me to enthusiastically continue my work in this area of diversity and inclusion,” says  Alavi.

She is committed to building an inclusive campus community, advancing a culture of inclusive excellence, and organizing and supporting programs, events and activities that promote cross-cultural understanding, respect, and inclusion of diverse individuals and groups.

Alavi’s support of diversity initiatives includes being named 2017 Woman of the Year for mid-size organization and educational institutions by Women in Technology (WIT),  authoring an article in the Atlanta Business Chronicle, titled “Multifaceted Diversity Effort Strengthens Diversity not only at Business Schools but Campus-wide” in 2018, among numerous speaking engagements and panel discussions.

“When you dive deeper into the source of Georgia Tech’s greatness, this diverse group of faculty, staff, and students reveals the true image of inclusive excellence,” said Dr. Archie W. Ervin, vice president, Institute Diversity.

Opening remarks from President Ángel Cabrera, and Dr. Ervin proved the Institute’s dedication to honoring those who place diversity and inclusivity as an essential part of an organizations success.

The theme of this year’s event was “Georgia Tech’s Racial Diversity Journey: Recognizing Our Past, Acknowledging Our Present, and Charting Our Future.”

Read more about this year’s event and honorees on the Institute Diversity’s website.

Watch Dean Alavi profiled as a receipient of the Diversity Champion Faculty Award below.



This website uses cookies. For more information review our Cookie Policy