Skip to main content

Scheller News

A few of the 13 Honors Day awardees.
A few of the 13 Honors Day awardees.

Dean Maryam Alavi (l) and Debra Jones (r)
Dean Maryam Alavi (l) and Debra Jones (r)

Scheller College 2017 Honors Day

In its ninth year, the Scheller College Honors Day Awards program was held on March 16, 2017. The ceremony recognizes outstanding Scheller College of Business faculty, students and staff who exemplify excellence.

“I am extremely proud to be part of this tradition and commend the honorees for their achievements and roles in creating the next big idea, the next in business education, and the next group of Scheller College business leaders,” said Maryam Alavi, dean of the Scheller College of Business.

“The enthusiasm and dedication of our many distinguished alumni, corporate partners, and friends, and their financial support has enabled the endowment of many of these awards. The generosity of these donors continues to make a significant impact in our community, and help us honor those who exemplify excellence,” she added.

Here are a few pictures from the event:

Honors Day Awards Ceremony 2017

Here are the 2017 Honors Day Awardees:

Faculty Awards

Brady Family Award for Faculty Research Excellence
Brian Swider, Assistant Professor, Organizational Behavior

Brady Family Award for Faculty Teaching Excellence
Morvarid Rahmani, Assistant Professor, Operations Management

Linda and Lloyd L. Byars Award for Faculty Excellence
D.J. Wu, Professor, Information Technology Management

Student Awards

John R. Battle Award for Student Excellence
Daniel Obiorah, BSBA 2017

Dow Chemical-P.C. McCutcheon Prize for Outstanding Student Achievement in Management
Chris Lung, BSBA 2017

Jennifer R. and Charles B. Rewis Award for Student Excellence in Accounting 
Elizabeth Pickens, BSBA 2017

Dean’s Prize for Evening MBA Student Excellence
Smriti Rao, MBA 2017

Dean’s Prize for Full-time MBA Student Excellence
Kevin Boldt, MBA 2017

Ashford Watson Stalnaker Memorial Prize for Ph.D. Student Excellence
Priyank Arora, Ph.D. Candidate, Operations Management
Minho Wang, Ph.D. Candidate, Finance


Verlander Family Award for Staff Excellence
Debra Jones, Administrative Supervisor, Faculty Administration

Stephen P. Zelnak Jr. Award for Staff Excellence
Peter Severa, Graduate Programs Manager, MBA Programs


The Ernest Scheller Jr. Prize
Ann Blasick
, Corporate Relations Manager, Career Services


Profile image for News
News Contact