Skip to main content

TI:GER® Welcomes Three New Board Members

David Cummings

David Cummings

Blake Patton

Blake Patton

Al Trujillo

Al Trujillo

Welcome to our three new TI:GER board members! Read more about each member below.

Connect with TI:GER

TI:GER Blogger Site  Facebook TI:GER Site  LinkedIn TI:GER Site  YouTube TI:GER Site

Farewell and Thank You to Margi Berbari

Margi Berbari is retiring from her position as program director of TI:GER and senior lecturer at Scheller College of Business this summer.  She will be greatly missed, but we realize that exciting opportunities and challenges await her.  Margi has been instrumental in growing TI:GER to its current status as a nationally recognized award winning program.  We wanted to take this opportunity to thank her for all her support, encouragement, and guidance for nearly 10 years and to wish her all the best in her future endeavors!

TI:GER Sweeps Georgia Tech Startup Competition!

Team BanyanTech

Teammates BanyanTech from left to right: Ajaay Ravi, Matt Smith, Akshay Ravi

Congratulations to TI:GER teams BanyanTech, Lumenostics, and Fox Three for finishing one, two, and three at this year’s Georgia Tech Startup Competition, presented by VentureLab and sponsored by the Scheller College of Business! BanyanTech, a first year TI:GER team, took home the grand prize of $10,000 for their technology that reduces heat from electronic devices more efficiently.  Team members include: Matt Smith – PhD candidate in Materials Science and Engineering; Georgia Tech MBA students, Akshay Ravi and Ajaay Ravi and Emory law students, Forrest Lind and Lorrin Stone.

TI:GER Team Invited to the Big Easy

Second from the right: Fox Three teammate Caroline Hanson

First year team, Fox Three, was selected to participate in the NSF I-Corps/Young Innovators Program in New Orleans in February.  After extensive customer discovery interviews, teammates Caroline Hanson (PhD), Eric Erzinger (MBA), and Philip Niedzwiedz (MBA) placed third in the three-minute pitch competition.  Fox Three Bioscience is developing microencapsulated drugs for the targeted release of hemostatic therapies, such as clotting factors for hemophilia.

Lumenostics Wins 2nd place in Cardinal Challenge

Team Lumenostics

Lumenostics teammates from left to right: Tyler Nelson, Prashanth Irudayaraj, Kalie Richardson

Congratulations to team Lumenostics for their recent win at the Cardinal Challenge in Louisville!   Lumenostics is developing a revolutionary wearable technology that enables the early detection and prevention of a debilitating disease called lymphedema. Team members include Tyler Nelson (PhD), Prashanth Irudayaraj (MBA), Will Jourdan (MBA), Kalie Richardson (JD), and Geoffrey Toy (JD).

Dr. Marie Thursby Named AAAS Fellow

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society has named Dr. Marie Thursby a 2015 Fellow.  Dr. Thursby is being honored for her research contributions to the role universities play in innovation and the development of pioneering graduate programs. These programs, such as TI:GER, prepare students for careers commercializing new technologies.

TI:GER Welcomes Belgian Students and Faculty

TI:GER hosted Belgium students from Ku Leuven and Flanders Business School Executive Entrepreneurship program to continue its collaboration and complete projects with Colyrut and DCM, two of Belgium’s premier companies. The seminar included talks by numerous entrepreneurs, lectures from guest speakers, a special due diligence session held by Atlanta Technology Angels (ATA).

TI:GER Innovation Conference: Solutions in Healthcare

On the right: Nicole Morris, Emory’s TI:GER Program Director

The inaugural TI:GER Innovation Conference: Solutions in Healthcare was held at Emory Law in January.  It was an exciting forum to share current healthcare business practices, discuss the legal and economic challenges, and showcase new technology from the TI:GER teams.

TI:GER Hosts Georgia Bowl

Georgia Bowl

Georgia Bowl, one of the oldest and most widely recognized business plan competitions, was hosted by TI:GER and Scheller College of Business in February.  A team from The University of Kentucky, Race Assured, captured 1st place for a $2,500 prize.

Graduation List

  • Beau Goodrick
  • Jeffrey Higel
  • Robert High
  • Katya Keremidchieva
  • Zoya Kovalenko
  • Nicole Leung
  • Mark Luo
  • Sarika Mathur
  • DeWitt Perkins
  • Mason Raphaelson
  • Kalie Richardson
  • Bunny Sandefur
  • Vaibhav Sharma
  • Geoffrey Toy
  • Brad Warner
  • Allison Wu
  • Vibin Aravindakshan
  • Kevin Bell
  • Jarod Collens
  • Indra Datta
  • Brett Goodson
  • El Majidi Hassan
  • Prashanth Irudayaraj
  • Will Jourdan
  • Maggie Lovatt
  • Michael Mendoza
  • Jonathan Miller
  • Lowell Pratt
  • Brendan Robinson
  • Divya Vepakomma
  • Adam Zuckerman
  • James Benson
  • Efrain Cermeno
  • Robert Demont
  • Maxwell Hill
  • Billy Kihei
  • Tyler Nelson
  • Yogi Patel
  • Gordon Waller

This message was sent from the Georgia Tech TI:GER® Program Office. If you do not want to receive email from the Georgia Tech TI:GER® program, please follow the subscription instructions below.