Skip to main content
See all news

Scheller News

Frank Rothaermel, the Angel and Stephen M. Deedy professor of strategic management, is one of three College professors ranked among the Top 100 Innovation Management Scholars.

Lauren McDow, a career advisor, won a Georgia Tech 2012 Staff Performance Award.

College of Management Faculty, Staff Receive Numerous Honors

Widely recognized for excellence in teaching and research, faculty members of Georgia Tech College of Management continue to raise the business school's profile through their professional activities and honors. Staff performance also continues to reflect well on the College. In recent news:

  • Three Georgia Tech College of Management professors were ranked among the world's Top 100 Innovation Management Scholars, according to a recent article in the Journal of Product Innovation Management: Frank Rothaermel (#11), the Angel and Stephen M. Deedy professor of strategic management; Stelios Kavadias (#16), associate professor of operations management and holder of the Steven A. Denning Professorship in Technology & Management (#16); and Sandra Slaughter (#70), professor of information technology management and holder of the Alton M. Costley Chair. Georgia Tech is ranked 21st worldwide among Top Innovation Management Universities.
  • Dan Breznitz, associate professor of international affairs and strategic management, will testify before Congress on May 10 (U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission) in a panel on innovation in China and its implications for the United States. He also won the Georgia Tech Research Corporation's 75th Anniversary Innovation Award for Public Service, Leadership, and Public Policy, and a Bronze Medal (International Business and Globalization) in the 2012 Axiom Business Book Awards. In 2012-2013, he will be a Fernand Braudel Senior Fellow at the European University Institute in Florence, Italy, and a Senior Visiting Fellow at Collegio Carlo Alberto in Turin, Italy.
  • Ravi Subramanian, associate professor of operations management, won the 2012 Paul Kleindorfer Award in Sustainability from the Production and Operations Management Society (POMS). The awards committee commended his research contributions to "several important streams, such as closed-loop supply chains, cap-and-trade strategies, and valuing environmental management initiatives."
  • Sandra Slaughter, professor of information technology management, won the Best Published Paper award in Information Systems Research, a leading journal, for "Why Do Software Firms Fail? Capabilities, Competitive Actions and Firm Survival in the Software Industry from 1995 to 2007."
  • Frank Rothaermel, professor of strategic management, published the textbook Strategic Management: Concepts & Cases (McGraw Hill). He was also appointed a member of leading journal Organizaton Science's Editorial Review Board.
  • Christina Shalley, the Thomas R. Williams-Wachovia professor of organizational behavior and holder of an ADVANCE professorship, was inducted as a fellow into the Society of Industrial/Organizational Psychology.
  • Ajay Kohli, professor of marketing and holder of the Gary T. and Elizabeth R. Jones Chair, has been invited to give the Iron Lecture at the Copenhagen School of Business and a plenary session on "Theory Construction" at the EMAC Doctral Colloquium in Lisbon, Portugal. He also serves as theory development editor and guest area editor for the Journal of Marketing.
  • Eric Overby, assistant professor of information technology management, won the Class of 1934 Course Survey Teaching Effectiveness Award from Georgia Tech. This award is based on high response rates and high scores in Course Instructor Opinion Survey evaluations.
  • Lucien Dhooge, the Sue and John Staton professor of business law, was the keynote speaker and distinguished scholar in residence at the Universitas 21 Doctoral Research Conference in Business at the University of Connecticut. He presented "Bridging the Clarity Gap Between Human Rights and Multinational Corporations" there. He is co-author of the new book International Business Law and its Environment (South-Western Cengage Learning).
  • Chris Forman will serve as co-chair for the Digital and Social Networks Track at the prestigious International Conference on Information Systems. He will also serve as associate editor of a special issue on business analytics of Management Science, where he is associate editor.
  • Lauren McDow, a career advisor in the Undergraduate Office, won a Georgia Tech 2012 Staff Performance Award.
Hope Wilson
Director of Communications