Skip to main content

Faculty in the Strategic Management area focus on research and teaching in the areas of strategy and innovation. Strategy is defined by the question of 'Why are some companies successful while others fail?'

The field builds on and integrates other functional areas to further our understanding of how firms gain and sustain a competitive advantage. Innovation, in turn, broadly includes value creating activities, such as those associated with the creation of new or improved ideas, products, processes, services, and organizational business models. Examples of topics of research interest and strength for our area at the intersection of strategy and innovation are technology-based entrepreneurship, R&D productivity, appropriability of returns from innovation, internal and external knowledge networks, intellectual human capital, and markets for technology.

View the Curriculum

Undergraduate Executive MBA
Full-time MBA PhD
Evening MBA
Current Areas of Research
  • Business government relations
  • Capability development
  • Economics of Innovation
  • Engineering Entrepreneurship
  • Industrial Organization
  • Intellectual Property
  • International Business/Economics
  • Legal Environment of Business
  • Management of Innovation and New Technologies
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Microfoundations of strategy
  • New industry creation and growth
  • Strategic Alliances and Technology Licensing
  • Strategic Interaction in High-Tech Industry
  • Technology Innovation Management
  • University - Industry Technology Transfer

Refereed Articles

Working Papers

Published Papers

Practitioner Publications

Teaching Materials

Strategy Management Faculty
Marco Ceccagnoli
Area Coordinator, Associate Professor 
Annamaria Conti
Assistant Professor 
Jonathan Giuliano
Stuart Graham
Associate Professor 
Matthew Higgins
Associate Professor, Term Professorship 
David N. Ku
Regents Professor, Special Chairholder 
John McIntyre
Professor, Program Director 
Alexander Oettl
Assistant Professor 
Frank T. Rothaermel
Professor, Special Chairholder 
Henry Sauermann
Associate Professor, PhD Coordinator 
Eunhee Sohn
Assistant Professor 
Peter Thompson
Senior Associate Dean, Professor 
Jerry Thursby
Professor, Special Chairholder 
Marie Thursby
Program Director, Special Chairholder 

John Walsh
Professor, School of Public Policy (courtesy appointment) 
Laurie Garrow
Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering